Two plus weeks of agony

Over the past two and a half weeks I have been moving out of my house of 20 years.  I was only going to stay here 5 years and my health and other crap got me trapped.  I broke my leg, I sprained my back, I’ve had surgeries on my shoulder and on my ovaries, I got covid, and I had brain surgery to just give you the highlights.  The move is the reason for all the bruising on my arms, the getting hit in the face with a hammer, I’ve gotten hit in the head with boxes.  I am bloody from scrapes and other mishaps; I am literally bruised from head to toe.  And I did it all myself, the moving, the scrapes, and the bruising. 

My son came from across the state and moved his and his brothers’ things out of the house a week ago.  He brought a 10-foot truck and I thought that was overkill, and yet we filled that sucker.  Of course, after he left, I found four more boxes hidden among everything else.  It was amazing how quickly that went, relatively speaking, with almost everything already packed up and ready to go.  Those things that weren’t, well, he made quick work of it with his youth and vitality.  I remember being that age and having that energy and strength.

I’ve been sorting what I can.  I’ve been to Goodwill and Habitat for Humanity many, many times.  I only rented a U-Haul for the big items and used Doc for everything else.  That little SUV, a Rav4, is a power horse.  Everything is in storage and I’m hitting the road. 

It’s amazing to realize that the muscles I thought that had atrophied over the years of being basically stationary, hurting from illnesses and injuries, and writing from bed, are still there, just waiting to bitch and moan over the work I’ve made them do.  Every day I had gotten slower and slower, the aches just too much sometimes (thank goodness for ibuprofen and hot baths).  It’s incredible how stiff you become, even getting into and out of bed has been a chore.  Just have to keep going, because if I don’t move it, or pack it, or store it, no one will do it for me.

No, I don’t know exactly everywhere I’ll be going, but I’ll take you all along on my journey with pictures and vlogs.  I just knew that I needed to get out of here, now, while I can still move and not pay the expensive rent any longer.  There was really no point anymore.  I was just fighting off depression and making wishes.  Now I’ll have to make those dreams and wishes come true because I’ll be out there.  For my mental as well as physical being, I’m escaping.  I’m scared, naturally, excited, and dreaming.  I hope you will go along too, if all else to live vicariously.

Follow my blog with all the links as I’m hoping to get my blog and other social media really going.  My page, Women Who Rock will highlight my travels and my author page will keep you apprised of my writings.

I look forward to your input, (positive) comments, and suggestions. 

As always, please check out my website http://www.kannemeinel.com for my many books.

3 thoughts on “Two plus weeks of agony

  1. Will you be traveling in an RV? Or have you landed somewhere? Hopefully, a blue state!

  2. breeznby says:

    Looking forward to traveling your journey with you. Please stay safe and and let the adventure of making your dreams come true begin. ❤️

Leave a comment