Mainstream vs Lesfic

When I came out with my book Doctored last year I had a conundrum.  ALL of my books pretty much have a lesbian or two in them.  Unfortunately Lesbian Fiction does not sell well.  I mean, I have the greatest following of lesbians, but I wanted to reach more, and not just lesbians.  Fortunately for me, Doctored sold well and the next book Veil of Silence sold just as well.  This is because I didn’t list them initially AS Lesfic, because, technically all books can be listed otherwise, in these cases as Women’s Fiction, Contemporary, and in Veil of Silence‘s case, War.  I’ve done the same with my most recent release of The Outsider and I have to say loyal Amazon fans and now Apple and Barnes & Noble fans are the best.  They follow you, they want everything you write, and they make me smile with the comments I get regarding my writings.

I debated long and hard about going mainstream, after all, my books are about the STORY, not the SEX.  I do not do fade to black, so if you are reading this and worry about reading a lesbian sex scene, you can skip those pages.  Heck, my very conservative aunt read Veil of Silence and thought it was fantastic, and that has some definite lesbian sex scenes.  So, the debate goes on in my head about what I should do.  I mean, I’ll always write lesbian stories, you write what you know, and I’m definitely a lesbian…or so my girlfriend tells me, lol.  i-am-not-a-lesbian

The crossover though is worth it, if you can support it, I think my writings do cross over.  I have a large male following and I once thought it was for the sex scenes but in queries to those fans it turns out they like a well-written book…who would have thought?

I appreciate ALL my fans, the men, the women, the lesbians, the gays, the straight, the bi-sexual, the trans, the PEOPLE, because isn’t that what it’s ALL about?  The PEOPLE and their stories?

So, if you like a well-written novel, pop over to my website and pick one or two or as many as you can handle…it’s a challenge, a dare, and I think if you are reading this, you are up for it!

Doctored, Veil of Silence, and The Outsider as well as many others await you!

Doctored Veil of Silence Cover the-outsider-cover

captureThat’s what we WANT to see, rising sales!

2

This is the screen shot of The Outsider in mainstream, this is for ALL of Amazon, not just one small section.  Out of the millions of submissions, my book is doing well!  Thank you, it is really appreciated by this author!

And please, don’t forget to tell others your thoughts, that’s all we ask after you have read our books:

Leaving a Review...

Leave a Reply

