After the Con

You would think there would be a tremendous let down after the conference in Washington D.C.  Well, not for me there wasn’t because I was happily on my way up the Eastern Seaboard, up from Virginia, through Maryland, a part of Delaware, 20160710_174041Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, 20160710_174430into a long stretch of Connecticut and up through Rhode Island to Massachusetts to return Sue Ellen to her home near Boston.20160710_162156  Then I turned around, went back to Rhode Island and checked into a hotel not too far from the airport in Providence.  My good friend Jessica and I had a date to pal around and she got there before me.  I jumped on her bed to fully wake her up and say hello.  It’s great to have friends like that and while she got ready for work (she works nights) I collapsed into my own bed to sleep.  She woke me when she came in in the morning and we both took naps for several more hours in our own beds.

Brunch came and she showed me ‘The Hill’ in Providence where ethnic neighborhoods abounded and we met up with her mother to eat at an  Italian delicatessen.  It was so much fun!  Check out the street, they even have the Italian colors in the street stripes!  Jess was certain I was going to get hit by a car taking these pictures, lol. 20160711_12042420160711_12045220160711_132641The food was fantastic, as I expected and the company just as good!20160711_132537

All too soon I had to get going as I had a date with a woman I’d been talking to for a while and Jess and I had to stop by a florist.  I think the results were worth the effort.Flowers in Sarah's home

We had a wonderful time as the three of us went swimming, hung out, and then Jess was off as she had to work that night.  My friend and I spent days together, shopping, getting to know one another, driving around and just having a great time.  We went to those magnificent homes in Newport that are just so huge you have to wonder, why does ANYONE have such HUGE homes for their SUMMER home?  The water was breathtaking, watching the boats, and seeing the just as huge sailing yachts.  It was really lovely.

All too soon I did have to start heading home from RI to WI.  On the Massachusetts Turnpike I hit one of those semi-trailer tire remains we all see on the Interstates.  downloadThe darn thing was across the road like a speed bump and there was no avoiding it as there was traffic on both sides of me doing well over 70MPH!  At first I thought I’d missed the worst of it, but my friend, following behind me in her own vehicle saw smoke and quite a bit of debris come flying off.  I stopped at a rest stop but didn’t get out to inspect the damage, but merely to make sure my phone was plugged in to charge and she called me to make sure I was okay…I actually was, no shaking, I’d handled it very well and wasn’t shook up.  It wasn’t until I was about 30-50 miles down the road that I heard an odd sound and decided to stop again and check the damage.  Uh oh, I was missing a bit of the bumper and front panel and something was wedged under the front tire!  20160713_07531820160713_075311

Apparently, when you rent a car and call for help, you have to know where you are…I had to go into the rest stop to use the bathroom and find out WHERE exactly I was!  Oops!  Also, according to Enterprise, they can’t come out to help me or exchange the car there, the turnpike is a private roadway and has to have the state police and AAA tow involved.  It took over an hour to show up, fortunately I was on my SIXTH call to Enterprise and they listened to the exchange.  The tow truck driver ended up jacking up the car (my suggestion) instead of towing it (his idea) and kicking the lodged piece of something loose from where it was wedged (my suggestion) and then said I was good to go.  Enterprise, listening to this agreed and I was soon off and back on the road!

Took me an extra day to get there (and, as always Chicago is a nightmare) 20160713_152859but I  managed to get home in one piece…but only after I stopped to shop at one of the only TWO Trader Joe’s in Wisconsin!20160713_170543  I just HAD to stop, also, to stretch…and pick up necessities…yes meringues, are necessities!20160713_170750…that was one, long, lonely trip and thank goodness for the excellent Nissan I rented from Enterprise (with insurance) because it was a lovely ride, despite the accident and damage.  Also, it had bluetooth technology and I spoke to friends for hours on the phone, through the radio…how cool is that?  I mean, I love gadgets but this was really something out of Star-Trek for this backwoods-living gal!  I really enjoyed this fairly new Nissan!

I knew I was in Wisconsin (FINALLY) when I saw THIS:20160713_193622

I hadn’t realized that Pokeman had become a ‘thing’ while I was gone but all the traffic signs, even the construction ones reminded people to watch the road and mentioned the dumb game!

20160714_110247

For a trip of over 3016 miles over the course of 10 days, I had such a LOVELY time!  Hope you enjoyed hearing about my adventures.

Thanks to those who made DOCTORED and VEIL of SILENCE back to back BEST SELLERS for this author!  Check them out on my website at www.kannemeinel.com!

Leave a Reply

