DC and Conference VII

20160707_124440

I truly loved this years conference.  After a full day of going to various readings and panels, I had been fortunate enough to see Annette Mori read from her current release Locked Inside.

She was kind enough to send me a copy of it to read.  I’m kind of hesitant to read it now because not only does it sound so intriguing but it bears a resemblance to my own book COMATOSE that I’ve been working on and off for a while and I don’t want it to influence me!  I’ll get to it, it’s on a shelf, in my ‘to be read’ pile and I do TRY to keep that DOWN, but as a publisher, that isn’t always possible.  I’ll get to it…eventually.  She deserved the Goldie she received for it and the cover, to me, was inspired!  I got to hang out with Annette and her lovely wife in the vendor room which is always nice as you make new friends at these cons.

Later, my own panels were a blast as we talked about MURDER!  If you have read my MALICE series you know I enjoy writing it!  13606448_1061634100550906_6650096119174601470_n

13620291_10153884687053668_8427213286764941049_n

Plus, who wouldn’t want to be with Jessie Chandler, Justine Saracen, Carsen Taite, Ann Aptaker, and moderated by Ann Roberts?  Now, who wouldn’t be intimidated by these Goldie and Lammie award winning authors?  While I may have looked like I was sleeping I was really enjoying what they had to say and contribute.  Fascinating women!  Watching four of them win Goldies on Saturday was AWESOME!  Good for you ladies!

Check in tomorrow for my next blog as the con comes to a close!

Check out my own Murder Mysteries (btw, I have thought up a whole new series I’m hoping to come out with NEXT spring)!

www.kannemeinel.com

Leave a Reply

