If I had a daughter, a poem

If I had a daughter

By K’Anne Meinel

© June 2015

If I had a daughter

I wouldn’t tell her how pretty she is

I’d tell her that beauty radiates from within

If I had a daughter

I wouldn’t tell her that things will be better someday

I’d point out the good things that are now

If I had a daughter

I would hold her when some man or woman broke her heart

And then we would jokingly plot our revenge-together.

If I had a daughter

I wouldn’t tell her how to live her life

I’d tell her that life is what you make of it, so live it

If I had a daughter

I’d tell her that being a tom-boy is okay

Because I was one too

If I had a daughter

I’d tell her it was okay to play with Legos

And then ask, could I play too

If I had a daughter

I would show her how to wear dresses, makeup, and embrace being female

And then I would show her that jeans, t-shirts, and being real are just as important

If I had a daughter

I would show her that climbing trees, playing with mud, and running

Are just as feminine as the above

If I had a daughter

I would explain that being feminine is a stereotype

That being true to oneself is more important

If I had a daughter

I wouldn’t tell her that no means no,

I’d tell her that he/she wouldn’t have asked in the first place if he/she respected her

If I had a daughter

I’d enjoy all the little things

That made her mine and I hers

If I had a daughter

I’d love her for the being I was lucky to have created

One thought on “If I had a daughter, a poem

  1. Kieran York says:

    K’Anne – so much wisdom.

Leave a Reply

