ONE MORE

BeFORE you DRINK tonight

K'Anne Meinel

ONE MORE
By
K’Anne Meinel

In January 2009 my niece was killed by a drunk driver. This is in remembrance of ‘one more.’

I think I’ll have one more
What could one more hurt
My impaired judgment tells me that one more can’t hurt
The bartender tried to stop my one more
The bouncer at the door tried to stop my one more
The car didn’t start right away; perhaps it too was trying to stop my one more
The cars that swerved and missed me, perhaps one more will swerve too
No, that one hit me and ended the life of a child who will have no more one mores

I wish I could have one more with you
I remember thinking there would be a lot one mores
One more trip
One more cat
One more laugh
One more smile
One more joke
Just one more
What we…

View original post 128 more words

One thought on “ONE MORE

  1. Rachel says:

    I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

