Blog Hop

1) WHAT AM I WORKING ON?

Out at the InnCurrently I’m finishing up OUT AT THE INN a contemporary romance that takes place in one of my favorite places on earth, the Central Coast of California. A woman finds an abandoned house in San Simeon California and remodels it with the help of friends and crews of workers. She meets various women until finding the love of her life. There is mystery, intrigue, and love, always the love… as well a few more ominous characters, ghosts, and possible death…

2) HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS OF ITS GENRE?

I tend to write whatever I feel like but the fans have been terrific as they have really responded to whatever I write and seem to like my detailed realism. The characters feel and act real not like someone who you would never want to know but possibly someone you would strive to be like or know. Some of what I write puts the reader in the place of the character and I like that, it makes them feel a part of the story.

3) WHY DO I WRITE WHAT I DO?

Because some of my favorite authors weren’t writing fast enough for me that I felt the need to write my own stories and as an avid bookworm my entire life I had to jump into the fray and found my creativity overflowing. I have over 100 different stories on my computer at any given time to work on in various stages of completion so the creativity is always there.

When I first started writing Lesbian Fiction also known as Lesfic I knew of NO OTHERS who wrote it. In the decade plus since I first wrote SHIPS, I have found many many new authors coming forward in this industry and I welcome quite a few of them. I continue to strive and improve as my writing has developed over the years and I hope my fans like that as well. I still get compliments on SHIPS and as that was my Freshman attempt at writing I am amazed, I no longer write like that but it is an old favorite of both mine and my fans.

4) HOW DOES MY WRITING PROCESS WORK?

I may start a story and do the outline or just the idea. Sometimes that is all that gets written for some time. Other times bits and pieces, scenes, funny lines, whatever comes to me randomly for that story will get put into these various stories. I try not to repeat myself from book to book but I also incorporate some common themes. Two reoccurring characters are the dogs or cats names and I find this humorous when my fans capture that theme as it is deliberate. The familiar names in the pets but the absolutely unfamiliar characters blend beautifully in my stories. I may work continuously on a book for weeks on end only to stop because I get burned out. Other times I can finish a short story or a novella in a relatively short time and get it out to my fans who are waiting for more. Some books take years to finish and others, not nearly so long depending on how fast I can exorcise it from my mind and onto my word processor.

#53 was released last month right in time for Christmas: The Journey Home Front Cover and I’m told people LIKE it!

When OUT AT THE INN is released it will be my 54th book and already I have ideas for #55, #56, and #57….

Three authors that will pick up on the blog hop:
Janie Franz: http://janiefranz.fourfour.com/home
Dawn Carter: https://carteredawn.wordpress.com/
Jennis Slaughter: http://sinjenkai.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

