What’s in a name?

Well, for one, it’s MINE!  K’Anne Meinel is totally unique.  Grandma wouldn’t let mom name anyone after her, she was Antonia for life but shortened to Toni which she abhorred her whole life.  Had I been fortunate to birth a girl she would have been given that moniker because I LIKED it!  I suspect one of my sons will use it ‘cause they knew of my love of the name, I’m not ready to be a grandmother yet so that can wait a while.

Mom got around Grandma’s edict that NONE of her grandchildren be named after her.  I was.  The K is not for Kay or any other version of it, it’s for Kleinschmidt as that was Mom’s maiden name.  It’s on my birth certificate like that and the apostrophe has caused me difficulty all my life because apparently people don’t have apostrophes in their name.

The name Meinel is certainly unique.  Not too common here in the United States.  There are a few others but our family came over after World War I on dad’s side and created our own ‘dynasty.’  There are quite a few ‘Meinels’ in Germany where Grandpa and Grandma emigrated from.  Our name is listed on Ellis Island because that’s where they came through after they got off the boat.

I am very proud of my German heritage.  I was the only one of my generation to take the time to learn the language.  Dad could understand it but spoke it horribly.  Mom, not at all.  I took 3.5 years of it in high school (but only because I graduated early) and I was not the best student.  So, Ich spreche eine bisschen Deutsch.  (I speak a little German), aber nicht sehr gute (however not so good).

Recently I came across some information that has me being FROM Germany.  This is false.  My name while German, is for an American gal who was raised in Wisconsin.  That’s the Midwest and you can’t get much more American than the Midwest.  Any information saying I am from Germany or that my books are translated from German, are false.  I’m proud of my name, I’ve made quite a name for myself with my fifty books to date (seventy if you count the different versions), and it’s uniquely mine.  It’s pronounced Kay-Ann My Nell (American Version) or Kay-Ann My Null (German Version).  I also answer to Hey-you occasionally.  I was always Mom never Mommy or Mum or Ma (rolling my eyes at that one, hate it).

Some may ‘fear’ it, some may hate it, some are convinced it’s made up for the sake of my books.  I don’t particularly care.  After all, I have proof (birth certificate), it’s mine, and I’m not about to change it for someone else.  I have had another last name when I was married and I didn’t like it so much (maybe that was why that marriage ended?  I don’t think so, but the idea is funny).  This one is mine, I’ll keep it.

One thought on “What’s in a name?

  1. I write under a pen name. ; )
    Which amuses only me because it was a typo and because my real name is Pen ; )
    And who really should be that concerned about our names except that people who love us ; )

Leave a Reply

